Paper instead of plastic . For humans. For the nature.

Plastic waste – A problem for the 21st century

Plastic waste in the ocean

Plastic waste and its impact on our environment

Plastic is increasingly becoming a serious problem in the 21st century. This is not due to the raw materials or the production processes, but to the fact that globally a share of 32% of all plastic packaging is not disposed of correctly (whether by landfill, incineration or recycling) but ends up in the environment in an uncontrolled manner. [1] Assessments made by the Federal Environmental Agency estimate that up to 110 million tonnes of plastic waste are in the oceans, and an additional 7.5 million tonnes are added every year! [2]

 


This problem will not solve itself, as the complete decomposition of plastic takes several centuries. Before decomposing plastic breaks down into smaller and smaller particles, that ultimately find their way into the human body through the food chain. Even biodegradable plastics only decompose reliably under the defined conditions of industrial composting.[3]

The plastic found in our oceans is mainly coming from the land and is being brought in to the seas by the rivers systems. Whilst Southeast Asian countries are a focal point, [4] also the North Sea is estimated to receive over 20,000 tons of plastic a year via its river outlets according to information from the BUND. [5]

So we can all make a contribution to the containment of plastic waste in the seas!

Paper – A good alternative to plastic

The best strategy for combating plastic waste in the oceans is indisputably to do without plastic products. Of course, in the short term, we will not be able to banish all plastic products from our lives, and in the long run, there will probably always be applications where plastic are indispensable. But even today there are viable, 100% biodegradable alternatives made from renewable raw materials in various areas: namely from paper.

 

Paper instead of plastic: Examples of alternative paper packaging

Paper – The packaging material of the future

Paper bags instead of plastic

Paper bags

The most well-known example: the carrier bag made of paper instead of plastic.

 

Although it is often rightly argued that the paper bag is energy-intensive in production and thus not sustainable, once released into the environment, the paper bag does disintegrate quickly, thereby forming nutrients for new plants.

 

 

Paper based grease-proof food packaging

Paper based grease-proof food packaging

In the area of grease-proof food packaging, there are high-quality paper products on the market that are produced without the addition of fluorine-containing chemicals or plastic-containing coatings, and are therefore, 100% compostable.

 

> A good example: Probarrier Nature

Barrier papers to provide protection against harmful substances

Barrier papers to provide protection against harmful substances

Food packaging is primarily used to protect food from external influences. A recently discussed topic in this context is the migration of mineral oil constituents from packaging (especially from printing inks) into food.

 

An effective barrier against these substances is plastic. But even in this area there are now alternatives made of paper that are completely free of plastics.

 

> A good example: Probarrier Nature against MOSH MOAH

Paper drinking straws

Drinking straws

Drinking straws, which are used in huge volumes, especially in the fast food industry, can easily be made from paper. A food-safe kraft paper is wound into a hollow tube and glued.

 

DREWSEN Special Papers – The name says it all.

Find out more about our "Function papers"

As an authority in the production of specialty papers, we are a leader in the development of food-grade paper packaging. In particular, our versatile barrier papers protect foods from various pollutants – and equally, helps reduce the environmental impact.

 

Individual product development

 

Do you have the requirement or the goal to replace paper with plastic within your business?

 

Contact us!

 

> R&D DREWSEN specialty papers

More information can be found here

Probarrier Nature Greaseproof paper

Probarrier Nature Greaseproof Paper

Here you will find information regarding our grease-proof and, moreover, 100% compostable papers for food packaging ...

Probarrier Nature Mineral Oil Repellent Paper

Probarrier Nature Mineral Oil Repellent Paper

Here you can find information regarding our mineral oil repellent papers for food packaging against MOSH MOAH ...

Papier statt Plastik: Barrierepapiere gegen Mosh und Moah für den Klimaschutz

Plastik und Plastikmüll: Das Problem des 21. Jahrhunderts

Plastikmüll im Meer

Kunststoffmüll und seine Bedeutung für unsere Umwelt

Plastik wird zunehmend zu einem gravierenden Problem des 21. Jahrhunderts. Dies liegt nicht etwa an den Rohstoffen oder den Produktionsprozessen, sondern an der Tatsache, dass weltweit ein Anteil von 32 % der Kunststoffverpackungen keiner Verwertung (sei es Deponierung, Verbrennung oder Recycling) zugeführt wird, sondern unkontrolliert in der Umwelt endet. [1] Schätzungen des Umweltbundesamtes gehen davon aus, dass sich bis zu 110 Mio. Tonnen Kunststoffmüll in den Ozeanen befinden und jedes Jahr kommen weitere 7,5 Mio. Tonnen hinzu! [2]

 


Kunststoffe im Meer

Dieses Problem wird sich nicht von selbst lösen, denn eine vollständige Zersetzung der Kunststoffe dauert mehrere Jahrhunderte. Vorher zerfällt das Plastik lediglich in immer kleinere Partikel, die so letztendlich über die Nahrungskette auch den Weg in den menschlichen Körper finden. Selbst biologisch abbaubare Kunststoffe zersetzen sich nur unter den definierten Bedingungen einer industriellen Kompostierung zuverlässig.[3]

Hauptverursacher für die Plastikflut in den Meeren sind Kunststoffe, die vom Land aus über die Flüsse ins Meer gelangen. Zwar bilden südostasiatische Länder dabei einen Schwerpunkt,[4] aber auch in die Nordsee werden nach Angaben des BUND jährlich 20.000 Tonnen Plastik über Flüsse eingetragen.[5]  Wir können also alle einen Beitrag zur Eindämmung von Plastikmüll in den Meeren leisten!

Papier statt Plastik – eine gute Alternative für Mensch und Klimaschutz

Die beste Strategie zur Bekämpfung von Plastikmüll in den Meeren besteht unbestreitbar darin, auf Plastik-Produkte zu verzichten. Sicherlich werden wir auf kurze Sicht nicht alle Kunststoff-Produkte aus unserem Leben verbannen können und auch auf lange Sicht wird es wohl immer Anwendungen geben, in denen Plastik unverzichtbar bleiben wird. Doch auch heute gibt es in verschiedenen Bereichen schon vernünftige 100 % biologisch abbaubare Alternativen aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen: nämlich aus Papier.

Papier statt Plastik: z.B. Barrierepapiere für Lebensmittelverpackungen

Papier – das Verpackungsmaterial der Zukunft

Statt Plastik: Papiertragetaschen / Papiertüte

Statt Plastik: Papiertragetaschen / Papiertüte

 

Das sicher bekannteste Beispiel: die Tragetasche aus Papier statt aus Plastik.

 

Zwar wird richtigerweise häufig argumentiert, dass die Papiertüte in der Produktion energieaufwändig und damit nicht nachhaltig ist, doch einmal in die Umwelt freigesetzt, zerfällt die Papiertüte in absehbarer Zeit und bildet dabei Nährstoffe für neue Pflanzen.

 

Fettdichte Lebensmittelverpackungen aus Papier

Fettdichte Lebensmittelverpackungen aus Papier

 

Im Bereich der fettdichten Lebensmittelverpackungen gibt es auf dem Markt hochwertige Papierprodukte, die auch ohne einen Zusatz von fluorhaltigen Chemikalien oder eine plastikhaltige Beschichtung auskommen und damit 100 % kompostierbar sind.

 

> Ein gutes Beispiel: Probarrier Nature

 

 

Barrierepapiere gegen Mosh und Moah

Barrierepapiere gegen Mosh und Moah als Schutz gegen schädliche Substanzen

 

Lebensmittelverpackungen dienen vor allem dem Schutz der Lebensmittel vor äußeren Einflüssen. Ein zuletzt viel diskutiertes Thema in diesem Zusammenhang stellt der Übergang von Mineralölbestandteilen aus der Verpackung (vor allem aus Druckfarben) in das Lebensmittel dar.

 

Eine wirksame Barriere gegen diese Substanzen stellt Plastik dar. Aber auch auf diesem Gebiet gibt es mittlerweile Alternativen aus Papier, die vollständig ohne Kunststoffe auskommen.

 

> Ein gutes Beispiel: Probarrier Nature gegen MOSH MOAH

Trinkhalme aus Papier

Trinkhalme

 

Auch Trinkhalme, die insbesondere in der Fast Food Branche massenhaft zum Einsatz kommen, können ohne weiteres aus Papier gefertigt werden. Ein lebensmittelechtes Kraftpapier wird dazu zu einer hohlen Röhre gewickelt und verklebt.

DREWSEN SPEZIALPAPIERE - Spezialist für umweltfreundliche Barrierepapiere

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Papiere mit Barriere

Als Spezialist in der Herstellung von Spezialpapieren, sind wir führend in der Entwicklung lebensmittelfreundlicher Verpackungen aus Papier. Besonders unsere vielseitigen Barrierepapiere schützen Lebensmittel gezielt vor verschiedenen Schadstoffen – und entlasten gleichermaßen die Umwelt.

Individuelle Produktentwicklung

Haben Sie in Ihrem Unternehmen die Anforderung oder das Ziel Plastik durch Papier zu ersetzen?

Sprechen Sie uns an!

 

> Produktentwicklung DREWSEN SPEZIALPAPIERE

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier

Probarrier Nature Fettdichte Papiere

Probarrier Nature Fettdichte Papiere

Hier finden Sie alle Informationen über unsere fettdichten und darüber hinaus 100 % kompostierbaren Papiere für Lebensmittelverpackungen ...

Probarrier Nature Mineralölabweisende Papiere

Probarrier Nature Mineralölabweisende Papiere

Hier finden Sie alle Informationen über  unsere mineralölabweisenden Papiere für Lebensmittel-verpackungen gegen MOSH MOAH ...